Huda Kattan Is The Most Followed Person On Instagram In The UAE In 2016

BY Maddison Glendinning / Dec 4 2016 / 20:45 PM

The former Bazaar cover star topped this year's list

Huda Kattan Is The Most Followed Person On Instagram In The UAE In 2016

Every year, Instagram releases a ranking of the top accounts on Instagram, including those who have gained the most followers in the past 12 months. It also calculated the top 15 accounts in the Middle East in 2016, and Bazaar's October cover star Huda Kattan came in at number one, unsurprising, given that with 15.8 million followers, she's a tough one to beat for the top spot.

Coming in second is Bollywood actor Hrithik Roshan (5.5 million), followed by Arab singer Balqees Fathi (5.2 million) who came in third.

There were plenty of women in the top 15 ranking, including Joelle Mardinan (5.1 million), Lojain Omran (4.7 million), Noha Nabil (3.9 million), Ola Alfares (3 million), Aseel Omran (2.9 million), Taim Al Falasi (2.2 million) and Mona Kattan (1.5 million).

In addition to our region, Instagram collated the fashion accounts that had gained the most followers over the past year and Gigi Hadid came in at number one, having gained a huge 16 million followers, providing definitive proof that this has most certainly been the young model's year. Sister Bella also saw a sizeable bump in her numbers, gaining 5.8 million more, and fellow Victoria's Secret models Taylor Hill and Candice Swanepoel also made the list having gained 3.6 million and 3.5 million respectively.

See the full lists below:

Top 15 UAE accounts

1. Huda Kattan @hudabeauty (15.8m) 

2. Hrithik Roshan @hrithikroshan (5.5m)

3.Balqees Fathi @balqeesfathi (5.2m) 

4. Joelle Mardinan @joellembc1(5.1m)

5. Lojain Omran @lojain_omran (4.7m)

6. HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum @faz3 (4.3m)

7. Noha Nabil @nohastyleicon (3.9m)

8. Abdullaziz Baz @bin_baz (3.7m) 

9. Ola Alfares @olaalfares (3m) 

10. Aseel Omran @aseel_o2 (2.9m)

11. Taim Al Falasi @taimalfalasi (2.2m)

12. HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum @hhshkmohd (2m)

13. Fouz Alfahad @therealfouz (1.5m) 

14. Mona Kattan @monakattan (1.5M) 

15. Hussain Aljassmi @7sainaljassmi (1.4M) 


Top 10 fashion accounts with the most new followers

1. Gigi Hadid @gigihadid - Gained 16 million followers

2. Cara Delevingne @caradelevingne - Gained 14.3 million followers

3. Hailey Baldwin @haileybaldwin - Gained 5.9 million followers

4. Bella Hadid @bellahadid - Gained 5.8 million followers

5. Emily Ratajkowski @emrata - Gained 5.7 million followers

6. Victoria Beckham @victoriabeckham - Gained 5.2 million followers

7. Chrissy Teigen @chrissyteigen - Gained 4.8 million followers

8. Gisele Bundchen @gisele - Gained 3.9 million followers

9. Taylor Hill @taylor_hill - Gained 3.6 million followers

10. Candice Swanepoel @angelcandices - Gained 3.5 million followers