Instagram Is Now Telling People When You Screenshot A Post

BY Maddison Glendinning / Nov 27 2016 / 14:50 PM

*remain calm*

Instagram Is Now Telling People When You Screenshot A Post
Getty Images

We're all guilty of screenshotting as we scroll through Instagram - be it a funny meme that perfectly sums up your current mood, shopping or fitness inspiration, or something a certain someone posted and you need your friends to help you dissect its meaning (#WeveAllDoneIt). Up until now, it's been a relatively secret thing (with the exception of your group WhatsApp chat) but over the weekend, people started receiving notifications about their Stories being snapped. Yep. And understandably, the world had a collective meltdown. 
At the moment, it currently only applies to the new Live Stories function which they introduced last week. So if you take a screenshot of someone's disappearing photos/videos, they'll be notified (as below). For now, you're free to continue your 72-weeks ago stalk-a-thon in anonymity but we'd advise taking it easy on the number of photos you save because it's gonna get really awkward, really fast, if that changes anytime soon.