24 Hours With Edoardo Caovilla

BY Kasia Truscott / Jan 20 2020 / 16:24 PM

Family man and Creative Director Edoardo Caovilla takes us through his typical day which includes heading up esteemed Italian shoe brand Rene Caovilla

24 Hours With Edoardo Caovilla

6:30 A.M. I don’t like to sleep very much because I like to live my life, so six-to-seven hours is enough for me. My life is very full. I have a job that I love, a wonderful wife and a family with three kids - and a fourth one on the way! So usually, it’s my children that wake me up in the morning. Whilst I’m still in bed, I’ll check my emails to see the agenda for the day and read the news so I know what’s going on in the world.

At 7:00 A.M. I have breakfast together with my family before going to the gym. My family love food and we love cooking – in fact, the kids are already cooking for themselves. We have a whole range of homemade cakes and scrambled eggs at breakfast, as well as Nutella with homemade bread, homemade marmalade... there’s absolutely everything! Tea is something I like to keep for the weekend to relax. I only get a few coffees in during the week – I like to train my body to give the best results and remain active without any kind of adjustment. For being an Italian, I don’t drink a lot of coffee! But if I do need it, I like to have my wife’s homemade Neapolitan coffee the best.

7:40 A.M. Getting dressed for work I am very straightforward – it usually only takes me around one minute. I take Ralph Lauren and Armani as my style inspiration. I really like the sleek, smart style, and wearing blue during the working week. The Hermès Eau D’Orange is a scent I’m really passionate about – I love perfumes that remind me of nature. For creams, I like using Bioderma’s Photoderm Spot Cream.

To get to work, I take my motorbike because Milan is very small, so it’s easy. It only takes me about two or three minutes, and I usually get there for 7:50A.M. Sometimes I’ll try to get there a bit earlier because I’m on the 11th floor, so I have this incredible view where I can sometimes catch the sunrise. It’s amazing.

Ladyperla Sling Back, Dhs3,270, René Caovilla

8:00 A.M. I’ve usually already looked at the agenda for the day in bed, so the first thing I do when I get to work is the most urgent things that need doing, whether that be designing, marketing or finance. I try to focus on those things first because not everyone in the office first thing, so it’s the best time to get things done. I also have an assistant that helps me manage my time. Being CEO and Creative Director of René Caovilla, as well CEO of the holding company of the group, my emails are quite hot every day. I organise my week as best as I can to be really efficient, but the help of my team is crucial. It’s a nice team, and I like having them around. Sometimes we can communicate and understand each other just with our eyes!

9:15 A.M. I always make sure to get up every 45 minutes or so to walk around and do at least three minutes of exercise. I like to stay on my feet. Our offices are totally transparent, so I also like to see people moving around. My personal office is black, white and gold, and very clean. I’ve also decorated it with a lot of personal stuff, so I have some things related to my kids, a picture of my yacht that I designed, things related to my first creation for René Caovilla... there’s a nice mix. The atmosphere is clean, but the essence inside is warm. It’s the way I am. However, I’m always straight to the point at work. Each division at work has their own responsibility. I am always there to give direction, but if something goes wrong, it’s on them. And the door is always open if they want to have a face-to-face. I like them to arrive with a problem and leave with a solution that they can come up with themselves.

Elsa Hosk for René Caovilla A/W19

1:30 P.M. I don’t really get hungry when I’m working; if I’m hungry, then I know something’s been compromised! However, I do have lunch at around 1:30pm, or maybe a bit later if I’m really busy. Because of my passion for food and cooking, I like to eat quite healthy, and have something like a quinoa salad or a Japanese dish. Anything Japanese is my favourite. Depending on the agenda for the day, sometimes I will have lunch with my team, too.

8:00 P.M. is when I usually get out of the office in Milan, where my kids are. After work, I’ll usually go to the gym until 9:00P.M, sometimes with people from my design team, so I make sure I'm home to say goodnight to the kids. But when I’m in Venice, where our creative offices are, the days are really long, and I can sometimes still be working until 11pm.

Flora Cleo Sandal, Dhs5,670, René Caovilla

9:30 P.M. I kiss the children goodnight and have dinner with my wife, who loves to cook for me. I really love her for that. After dinner, I like to sit and draw, sketching the world around me, like my wardrobe, the table, or my sofa. I like to watch a lot of sports in the evening too, so I’ll catch up on the football or the NBA, or whatever is on. I’m not really a social animal per se, but I like spending time with family. It’s really important to me. But if there is a very well-selected event for work, where the people are nice and are highly skilled, and where you can say something and learn something in return, I do like attending those very much.

12:00 A.M. is when I usually go to bed. I’m very lucky, because I like to fall asleep cuddling with my wife in my arms. That’s something I don’t think I could live without. The very last thing I do before I turn out the lights is switch off my phone, kiss my wife, and then I fall asleep almost instantly!


From Harper's BAZAAR Arabia's January 2020 Issue